Permaculture and market gardening

Vision

We know, we read, we hear that we are heading towards resource depletion, possible collapse, forest destruction. There is the climate change that is not taken into consideration enough and the need to deal with long-term population migration.
We need to rapidly increase our energy and food self-sufficiency. We need to work on resilience, to move from individualism to collective. We need others, to be inspired by nature and to pool our talents.

Permaculture is an essential source of inspiration for us. This is a permanent thread for us, both in the way the site is configured, how it functions and how it is thought out. The relief, the water, the trees, the surrounding nature, the residents, etc. are integrated and brought into resonance.

We want to Naturia

  • Ensure the concept of permaculture: " Taking care of myself, others and the world
  • Ensure that the ethics of permaculturethat is, finding a balance between
  • Taking care of naturewhich is a source of life & nourishment. We want to contribute to improve biodiversity, reuse a maximum of waste because the earth is not a dustbin. The principle is to integrate rather than separate.
    We are going to draw up a charter, proposing guidelines to be transmitted from the moment of reception and which will govern life on the site. We want to raise awareness about the use of dry toilets, waste sorting, composting, etc.

We are going to help save biodiversity by participating in the project of the Walloon region. The fences have already been removed for the most part and will be replaced by hedges. We have cut down some dead and diseased fir trees and will replace them with an orchard. We will apply for a grant for multifunctional hedges and an orchard. We want to integrate fruit trees and a food forest.

The AWAF association has developed a practical brochure that helps to know which hedges to install in our region, adapted to our objectives.
As planting trees and hedges is not our job, we want to get help from professionals! They will help us to think about our collective project, to fit it into more global plans and to benefit from the experience of a network... We will contact the partners recommended by the project Yes We plant (starting with the PCDN and the Local Action Group).

We plan to build a chicken coop. Chickens have several functions: recycling vegetable waste, fresh eggs, fertilizing the soil, eliminating certain pests on the land, turning and aerating the soil. We are thinking about a mobile hen house or a mobile pen so we can move them around. 

  • Taking care of people by improving humanity, living together, connections, mutual support, production by many. It is about taking care of all living things (oneself, others, animals) because everything is interconnected.
  • Promoting equitable sharingTo meet our real needs instead of over-consumption, to create abundance and redistribute it, to improve the exchange system. Share our talents, know-how and skills and put them to use in the service of others. Emphasize cooperation, co-creation and synergy (together we go further).

Nathalie Tverdya cooperator, attended a Long cycle in permaculture (PDC - Permaculture Design Course) at Terre et Conscience asbland is our permaculture manager. Bernard Gosseleta future cooperator, has extensive experience in permaculture.

To get more inspiration and to develop our knowledge, we plan to visit places that apply permaculture in their projects[1].

We want to make responsible market gardening with an external market gardener and make available 1 hectare of land for this purpose.

We are in contact with the association Crab because they train market gardeners. We will contact the University Faculty of Gembloux as well as Earth & Consciousness to offer students the opportunity to do their final year work at Naturia.

We want to surround ourselves with professionals to give our beautiful project the best chance to become reality. The organization Altera Projects can also bring us expertise in various fields, including short circuit production - market gardening. We are also thinking of contacting Energy & Local Development that support territories "to transform the (urgent) issue of energy into a driving force for social policies, the development of a local economy, energy autonomy, citizen cohesion...".

A vegetable garden-A 400 m² mound of sunshine is currently under construction. We are going to give new life to a clayey and very rocky land. The installation of a greenhouse and compost bins are part of the project.

The question of transmission is also important to us: organizing workshops on vegetable gardening, permaculture, jarring; offering guidance on the use of compost; learning to live with the seasons (displaying the fruit and vegetable calendar); encouraging responsible consumption (tips and tricks for using peelings, carrot tops, waste, etc.).

We would like to train, educate and inform the residents and users of the place about permaculture. It's about making people aware that everything we do has an impact!
Welcome to the countryside in Wallonia offers quality coaching to help develop
an activity of reception in the countryside! We contacted them as part of our conversion to an ecocamp.

Permaculture is also think outside the boxIt's a change of perspective. We are inspired by the Book "7 ways of thinking differently" of Loobna Mcnamara

  1. Thinking abundantlyWe are told about scarcity all the time, yet nature is in total abundance. All plants produce seeds. We want to promote quality, encourage recognition, gratitude and sharing.
  2. Thinking solutionsEvery problem is an opportunity to grow and develop! Be proactive rather than reactive and remember that our decisions will impact the future.
  3. Systems thinkingTo think in whole rather than in parts because everything interacts. At the center is "life" and not the human.
  4. Thinking like natureObserve and copy natural ecosystems, review the cycles, do not fight but collaborate with nature, especially in the vegetable garden: nasturtiums and thistles attract aphids, nettles distract slugs and snails, dandelions for caterpillars (protect salads). Everything evolves and grows at its own pace.
  5. Thinking about cooperationNot to put the "power OVER" but the "power WITH".
  6. Thinking for the futureThe sustainability/perpetuity dimension is essential. Our actions have an impact on the next 7 generations (170 years). We want to develop a generative culture: to move towards a positive impact. We invite the cooperators to ask themselves the question: "What purpose does the project serve in the ecosystem? What energy will my project inject into the ecosystem? ".
    Taking care of the ecosystem means, for example, creating corners for fauna, "insect hotels", making piles of branches, putting up nesting boxes... Small gestures can already have a big impact.

Waste treatment

Waste sorting

 

We decided to collaborate with Retrivalwhich is a company concerned with transition and which has an assumed social purpose. This reinforces the coherence of our project. We can no longer accept that all the waste (plastic, cardboard, leftovers, etc.) is found in a single container.

In practice, Retrival proposes :

  • Multi-stream collections with container take-back or exchange;
  • flexible frequency passages that adapt to our activity;
  • Differentiated weighing by product, which guarantees a fair price;
  • a detailed statement of our waste/resources with invoices;
  • the search for the best solutions.

The waste they evacuate is mainly cardboard, frigolite, PMC, plastic packaging films, bulky items, wood, metals, waste electrical and electronic equipment, frames, etc.

On our side we will organize a place where the sorting will be easy to understand and to do for our residents and the campers passing by. Explanatory and educational posters will be created for this purpose.

Composting

For composting, we encourage both individual and collective composting.

The individual using the BOKASHI technique to compost food scraps without worms, flies, gardens or bad smells. The acquisition of such a composter is at the expense of the resident. 

A collective compost is planned next to the vegetable garden. 2-3 compost bins made from pallets will be used to collect garden and household waste.

The initiative must necessarily be supported by the community (tenants, transients).

One or more people will monitor the waste process.

Our objectives for this collective composting are :

  • to reduce the amount of household waste of local residents,
  • manage waste in the continuity of selective sorting,
  • create a social link.

An inspiration booklet has been created to explain the whole process, the objectives, the benefits, how to do it, etc. This booklet is intended for current tenants and all cooperators. It is also available to our visitors. Our goal is to motivate everyone to contribute to a world where we all take care of nature together.

Dry toilets

20 to 30% of household water consumption goes down our toilets! And for most of us, it is drinking water that we use for this purpose. This is also the case in our home in 2021. This is absurd, when you think that in 2005, more than one billion people in the world did not have access to drinking water.

It is therefore urgent to propose and implement alternatives. Dry toilets, which do not use water (or very little), are one of them and, thanks to the practice of composting, allow us to give back to the earth what is produced.

We will build 2-3 dry toilets in Naturia to familiarize our visitors with this alternative that is much more in tune with nature.

We have developed an inspiration booklet on this theme, intended for current tenants and all cooperators. This booklet is also available to our visitors. Our goal is to motivate those who still have traditional toilets to switch to dry toilets in their homes in Naturia.

The advantages are numerous.

Everyone will be invited to empty their buckets into a dedicated compost bin, as dry toilets are not emptied into compost bins with garden and household waste!
It is only used after two years of composting and three or four turnings. The temperature increase after the composting process and the maturation period guarantee the absence of pathogenic germs.
We will rotate with 3 compost piles to make it more manageable and to respect the two year waiting period. One heap/bin of decomposition compost for the current year; a second heap/bin of maturation for the year before and a third of maturation for the year before so that it makes 2 full years.

[1] For example: Millefeuillean organization for the preservation of the environment in Cul des Sarts, Le Happy Earth Center in Zétrud-Lumay, ea

EN

Permaculture et maraîchage

Vision

Nous savons, lisons, entendons que nous nous dirigeons vers un épuisement des ressources, un possible effondrement, la destruction des forêts. Il y a les changements climatiques qui ne sont pas assez pris en considération et la nécessité de faire face à une migration de populations à long terme.
Nous avons besoin rapidement d’augmenter notre autonomie énergétique et alimentaire. Nous devons travailler à la résilience, passer de l’individualisme vers le collectif. On a besoin des autres, de s’inspirer de la nature et de mettre nos talents en commun.

La permaculture est une source d’inspiration essentielle pour nous. C’est pour nous un fil conducteur permanent, tant dans la façon dont le site est configuré, dont il fonctionne et dont il est pensé. Le relief, l’eau, les arbres, la nature avoisinante, les riverains, etc. sont intégrés et mis en résonnance.

Nous voulons à Naturia

  • Veiller au concept de la permaculture : « Prendre soin de moi, des autres et du monde« 
  • Veiller à l’éthique de la permaculture, c’est-à-dire trouver un équilibre entre
  • Prendre soin de la nature, qui est source de vie & nourricière. Nous voulons contribuer à améliorer la biodiversité, réutiliser un maximum de déchets car la terre n’est pas une poubelle. Le principe est d’intégrer plutôt que de séparer.
    Nous allons élaborer une charte, proposer des lignes de conduite à transmettre dès l’accueil et qui régiront la vie sur le site. Nous voulons sensibiliser à l’usage des toilettes sèches, au tri des déchets, à l’alimentation d’un compost, etc.

Nous allons participer à sauver la biodiversité en participant au projet de la région Wallonne  . Les clôtures ont déjà été enlevées en grande partie et vont être remplacées par des haies. Nous avons abattu des sapins morts et malades et allons les remplacer par un verger. Nous allons introduire une demande de subvention pour des haies multifonctionnelles et un verger. Nous désirons intégrer les arbres fruitiers et une forêt nourricière.

L’association AWAF a développé une brochure pratique qui permet de savoir quelles haies installer dans notre région, adaptées à nos objectifs.
Comme planter des arbres et des haies n’est pas notre métier, nous voulons nous faire aider par des professionnels ! Ils nous aideront à penser notre projet collectif, à l’inscrire dans des plans plus globaux et à bénéficier de l’expérience d’un réseau… Nous contacterons les partenaires recommandés par le projet Yes We plant (à commencer par le PCDN et le Groupe d’action locale).

Nous prévoyons de construire un poulailler. Les poules ont plusieurs fonctions : recyclage des déchets de légumes, des œufs frais, fertiliser la terre, éliminer certains parasites sur le terrain, retourner et aérer la terre. Nous réfléchissons à un système de poulailler mobile ou à un enclos mobile pour pouvoir les déplacer. 

  • Prendre soin des humains en améliorant l’humanité, le vivre ensemble, les connexions, le soutien mutuel, la production à plusieurs. Il s’agit de prendre soin de tout le vivant (soi, les autres, les animaux) car tout est interconnecté.
  • Favoriser un partage équitable: répondre à nos besoins réels au lieu d’être dans la surconsommation, créer de l’abondance et la redistribuer, améliorer le système d’échange. Partager nos talents, savoir-faire, compétences et les mettre au service de Mettre l’accent sur la coopération, la co-création et la synergie (ensemble, on va plus loin).

Nathalie Tverdy, coopératrice, a suivi un Cycle long en permaculture (PDC – Permaculture Design Course) chez Terre et Conscience asbl, et est notre responsable permaculture. Bernard Gosselet, futur coopérateur, a une grande expérience dans la permaculture.

Pour nous inspirer d’avantage et pour développer nos connaissances, nous planifions d’aller visiter des lieux qui appliquent la permaculture dans leur projet[1].

Nous voulons faire du maraichage responsable avec un maraicher extérieur et mettre à sa disposition 1 hectare de terrain à cet effet.

Nous sommes en contact avec l’asbl Crabe car ils forment des maraichers. Nous allons prendre contact avec la Faculté universitaire de Gembloux ainsi que Terre & Conscience afin de proposer à des étudiants de faire leur travail de fin d’étude à Naturia.

Nous voulons nous entourer de professionnels pour donner toutes les chances à notre beau projet de se réaliser. L’organisation Altera Projects peut aussi nous apporter une expertise dans des domaines variés et entre autres la production circuit court – maraichage. Nous pensons également contacter Energie & Développement local qui accompagnent des territoires « pour transformer la question (urgente) de l’énergie en moteur de politiques sociales, de développement d’une économie locale, d’autonomie énergétique, de cohésion citoyenne… »

Un potager-soleil de 400 m² en buttes, est en construction actuellement. Nous allons redonner vie à une terre argileuse et très rocailleuse. L’installation d’une serre et de bacs à compost font partie du projet.

La question de la transmission est également importante à nos yeux : organiser des ateliers potager, de permaculture, de mise en bocaux ; proposer un encadrement à l’utilisation du compost ; apprendre à vivre avec les saisons (afficher le calendrier des fruits & légumes) ; inciter à une consommation responsable (trucs et astuces pour utiliser épluchures, fanes de carottes, déchets…).

Nous voudrions ainsi former, sensibiliser et informer les résidents, ainsi que les usagers du lieu à la permaculture. Il s’agit de mener à prendre conscience que tout ce qu’on fait a un impact !
Accueil Champêtre en Wallonie propose un encadrement de qualité pour aider à développer
une activité d’accueil à la campagne ! Nous les avons contactés dans le cadre de notre reconversion vers un écocamp.

La permaculture c’est aussi penser autrement, c’est un changement de regard. Nous nous inspirons du Livre “7 ways of thinking differently” de Loobna Mcnamara

  1. Penser abondance: on nous parle de pénurie tout le temps pourtant la nature est abondance totale. Toutes les plantes produisent des graines. Nous voulons favoriser la qualité, encourager la reconnaissance, la gratitude et le partage.
  2. Penser solutions: chaque problème est une opportunité pour s’enrichir et grandir ! Être proactif plutôt que réactif et ne pas oublier que nos décisions vont impacter le futur.
  3. Penser en systèmes: penser en tout plutôt qu’en parties car tout interagit. Au centre est « la vie » et non l’humain.
  4. Penser comme la nature: observer et copier les écosystèmes naturels, revoir les cycles, ne pas lutter mais collaborer avec la nature, notamment dans le potager : capucines et chardons attirent les pucerons, les orties distraient les limaces et escargots, le pissenlit pour les chenilles (protéger les salades). Chaque chose évolue et pousse à son propre rythme.
  5. Penser la coopération: ne pas mettre le « pouvoir SUR » mais le « pouvoir AVEC ».
  6. Penser pour le futur: la dimension durabilité/pérennité est essentielle. Nos actions ont un impact sur les 7 générations suivantes (170 années). Nous souhaitons développer une culture génératrice : passer à un impact positif. Nous invitons les coopérateurs à se poser la question : « A quoi le projet sert-il dans l’écosystème ? Quelle énergie mon projet va-t-il injecter dans l’écosystème ? ».
    Prendre soin de l’écosystème, cela signifie par exemple : aménager des coins pour la faune, des « hôtels à insectes », faire des tas de branches, poser des nichoirs… Des petits gestes peuvent déjà avoir un grand impact.

Traitement des déchets

Tri des déchets

 

Nous avons décidé de collaborer avec Retrival, qui est une entreprise soucieuse de transition et qui a une finalité sociale assumée. Cela renforce la cohérence de notre projet. Nous ne pouvons plus admettre que tous les déchets (plastique, pmc, cartons, restes, ea) se retrouvent dans 1 seul contenant tout venant.

En pratique, Retrival propose :

  • des collectes en multiflux avec reprise ou échange de contenants;
  • des passages à fréquences flexibles qui s’adaptent à notre activité;
  • des pesages différenciés par produits qui nous garantissent un prix juste;
  • un relevé détaillé de nos déchets/ressources avec les factures;
  • la recherche des meilleures solutions.

Les déchets qu’ils évacuent sont principalement les cartons, la frigolite, les PMC, les films d’emballage plastique, les encombrants, le bois, les métaux, les déchets d’équipements électriques et électroniques, les châssis,…

De notre côté nous organiserons un endroit où le tri sera facile à comprendre et à faire pour nos résidents et les campeurs de passages. Des affiches explicatives et pédagogiques seront créées à cet effet.

Compostage

Pour le compostage, nous encourageons à la fois le compostage individuel et le compostage collectif.

L’individuel en utilisant la technique BOKASHI pour composter les restes alimentaires sans vers, ni mouchettes, sans jardin, ni mauvaises odeurs. L’acquisition d’un tel composteur est au frais du résident. 

Un compost collectif est prévu à côté du potager. 2-3 bacs de compost fabriqué avec des palettes servira à accueillir les déchets de jardin et de maison.

L’initiative doit nécessairement être appuyée par la collectivité (locataires, personnes de passage).

Une ou plusieurs personnes surveilleront le processus de transformation des déchets.

Nos objectifs de ce compostage collectif sont :

  • réduire les déchets ménagers des riverains,
  • gérer les déchets dans la continuité du tri sélectif,
  • créer un lien social.

Un carnet d’inspiration a été créé pour expliquer toute la marche à suivre, les objectifs, les avantages, comment faire, etc. Ce carnet est destiné aux locataires actuels et à tous les coopérateurs. Il est aussi mis à disposition de nos visiteurs. Notre but est de motiver tout le monde à contribuer à un monde où on prend tous ensemble soin de la nature.

Toilettes sèches

20 à 30% de la consommation d’eau des ménages passe dans nos toilettes ! Et pour la plupart d’entre nous, c’est de l’eau potable que nous utilisons à cet effet. C’est aussi le cas chez nous en 2021. C’est aberrant, quand on pense que dans le monde en 2005, plus d’un milliard d’humains n’avaient pas accès à l’eau potable.

Il est donc urgent de proposer et mettre en place des alternatives. Les toilettes sèches, qui n’utilisent pas d’eau (ou très peu), en sont une et permettent notamment, grâce à la pratique du compostage, de rendre à la terre ce qui en est issu.

Nous allons construire 2-3 toilettes sèches à Naturia pour familiariser nos visiteurs à cette alternative bien plus en phase avec la nature.

Nous avons développé un carnet d’inspiration sur ce thème, destiné aux locataires actuels et à tous les coopérateurs. Ce carnet est aussi mis à disposition de nos visiteurs. Notre but étant de motiver ceux qui ont encore des toilettes traditionnelles à passer aux toilettes sèches dans leur habitat à Naturia.

Les avantages sont nombreux.

Tous seront invités à vider leurs seaux dans un bac à compost spécialement dédié, car les toilettes sèches ne se vident pas dans les bacs de composts avec les déchets de jardin et maison !
Il ne sera utilisé qu’après deux ans de compostage et trois ou quatre retournements. La montée en température qui suit l’élaboration du tas ainsi que la durée de maturation garantissent l’absence de germes pathogènes.
Nous tournerons avec 3 tas de compost pour mieux s’y retrouver et respecter les deux ans d’attente. Un tas/bac de compost de décomposition pour l’année en cours ; un deuxième tas/bac de maturation pour l’année d’avant et un troisième de maturation pour l’année encore d’avant de façon à ce que cela fasse 2 ans pleins.

[1] Par exemple : Millefeuille, une organisation pour la préservation de l’environnement à Cul des Sarts, Le Centre de Terre Happy à Zétrud-Lumay, ea

FR